Cantina Piemontese: Traditional Cuisine in 30’s Style

Cantina Piemontese is located at Via Laghetto 2, Milan
Cantina Piemontese is located at Via Laghetto 2, Milan

It’s been almost 2 months since my gastronomic trip to Milan but I’ve decided to still write a review on two restaurants I went to just because they were incredibly good. My friends and I discovered Cantina Piemontese from the hotel magazine. It was our first night in Milan and after driving for almost 5 hours, all we wanted was to have a great dinner. When my friend suggested this restaurant, I was skeptical at first since it didn’t really rank high up in the Trip Advisor. But then the magazine had a really good description of the place and we were in the area so I thought, why not?

Location and Accessibility (4/5)

Cantina Piemontese is located at Via Laghetto 2, Milan. It is conveniently located close to Duomo but far enough to the most “touristy area” in Milan to be ripped off – about five-minute walk from Duomo.

Food (4.5/5)

For the starter, I had the artichokes with mozzarella salad. The presentation was nothing fancy – literally just artichokes with a big ball of buffalo mozzarella in the middle… and it was amazing! The artichokes were perfectly cooked and the buffalo mozzarella was really of a good quality (the expensive buffalo mozzarella I get here in Geneva is not even close). I must say, it was because of this dish that I became obsessed with artichokes for a while.

For my main course, I had spaghetti alle vongole (spaghetti noodles with clams). It is a very simple dish but I loved it. It was served without the shells, which I prefer. I had to mention this because I have a friend who won’t eat pasta alle vongole if the clams have been removed from their shells.

Lastly, a good discovery in this restaurant is the 2011 Piemonte Barbera wine. I love the smoothness of this wine and, for the lack of a better term, I find it flexible – some of us had seafood while some had meat and we all enjoyed the wine.

Ambiance (4/5)

Cantina Piemontese is described to have the classic 30’s style. I simply find it cozy. There was a big family who was having dinner when we were there and at one point, it looked like a scene from a classic movie. It is nothing fancy and not crazy busy, at least when we were there.

Price (4/5)

Unfortunately, I can’t remember the details of the prices anymore but I have a note in my phone that says that the prices were pretty reasonable – not expensive at all.

Service (5/5)

This is probably my first 5/5 rating for service. We had an excellent server, very friendly and very helpful (I believe her name is Rosie). She spoke English and she was patient in explaining to us the menu (the menu was in Italian). The kitchen was fast too, we didn’t have to wait long for the food to be served. After dinner, when we asked where we can get a cab, they offered to order a cab for us.

Overall Rating

This cantina is a 4.3/5 for me and I will definitely go back here again and bring my friends if we visit Milan again. The food and the service were particularly excellent when I went there. Cantina Piemontese may not be at the first top 10% in Trip Advisor but it is definitely to try in Milan.

 

Leave a Reply

